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Division of Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation  

 
CONSTRUCTION PROCESSES, STATUTES, RULES AND REGULATIONS 

 

Design Requirements: 

 

If all estimated costs of a building exceed $25,000, then all aspects of the project that involve 

engineering (structure, plumbing, electrical, HVAC, etc.) must be designed by an Arkansas 

licensed engineer.  

(A.C.A. § 22-9-101) 

 

If all estimated costs of a building exceed $100,000, then an Arkansas licensed architect must 

design the project.  When an architect is employed for a project, the engineering requirements 

become the responsibility of the architect and properly licensed engineers must still be used.  

(A.C.A. § 22-9-101) 

 

All public schools shall meet the Arkansas Code pertaining to earthquake design for public 

structures.  The design of structural elements of public buildings and structures shall be 

performed by a professional engineer registered in the State of Arkansas who is competent in 

seismic structural design according to current standards of technical competence.  These 

requirements include all new construction, any addition to an existing facility that exceeds 4,000 

square feet and any remodeling or repair of a building which when completed will increase the 

market value of the building by 100% or more. (A.C.A § 12-80-104) 

 

The “park and recreation facilities” of a school district are not included in this requirement.  

“Park and recreational facilities” shall mean any facilities that are generally open structures and 

have three or fewer sides and are used for athletics, recreation or entertainment (i.e., pavilions, 

amphitheaters, and baseball dugouts). (A.C.A § 12-80-105) 

 

School districts in Seismic Hazard Exposure Group III shall have non-structural interior 

components (such as bookshelves, light fixtures, shelving, hot water tanks, oxygen tanks, etc.) to 

meet earthquake resistant guidelines. (A.C.A. § 12-80-104) 

 

Seismic Hazard Exposure Group III shall include the following counties: Clay, Greene, 

Craighead, Mississippi, Poinsett, Cross, Crittenden, St. Francis, Randolph, Lawrence, Jackson, 

Woodruff, and Lee. 

(A.C.A. § 12-80-102) 

 

Architects and engineers must be hired by considering and evaluating their “annual statement of 

qualifications,” which outlines their background, experience, prior work and personnel.  

Procuring these services by competitive bidding is prohibited.  

(A.C.A. §19-11-801 through 805) 
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Plans and specifications for any new building or addition must be approved by the Division of 

Arkansas Public School Academic Facilities and Transportation (Division). The approval 

process must include review and approval by all appropriate and applicable state agencies, 

boards, and local officials as required by the Arkansas Public School Academic Facility Manual.  

(A.C.A. § 6-20-1407) 

 

For new public school facilities, final construction documents must be submitted to the Design 

Review Section of the Arkansas Building Authority to ensure compliance with the Americans 

with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines. (A.C.A. § 6-20-1407) 

 

For additions or renovations, a copy of final construction documents shall be submitted to the 

State Fire Marshal Enforcement Section of the Department of Arkansas State Police for review 

in regard to compliance with the Arkansas-adopted Americans with Disabilities Act 

Accessibility Guidelines (A.C.A. § 6-20-1407) 

 

Bidding Requirements: 

 

If all estimated costs of a project are less than $20,000, then the district follows local school 

board policies to award the contract. (Division Rules Governing Self-Construction Projects by 

Public Education Entities)  

 

If all estimated costs of a project exceed $20,000, the district shall advertise a minimum of one 

time a week for two weeks. (A.C.A § 22-9-203) 

 

In all instances of publication, the bids may not be opened before one week from the last day of 

advertisement. (A.C.A § 22-9-203) 

 

A district may use alternates in the bid specifications on construction projects.  No more than 

three alternates may be used.  The alternates must be deductive.  The alternates must be listed in 

numerical order.  (A.C.A. § 22-9-203) 

 

In the event all bids submitted exceed the amount appropriated for the award of the contract, the 

district may negotiate an award of the contract with the apparent responsible low bidder, but only 

if the low bid is within 25% of the amount appropriated.  

(A.C.A. § 22-9-203) 

 

If all estimated costs of a project exceed $75,000, the bid documents shall contain statements, 

which encourage the participation of small, minority, and women business enterprises.  

(A.C.A. § 22-9-203) 
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Bond Requirements: 

 

A 5% bid bond or a certified check in the amount of 5% of the bid shall accompany all submitted 

bids on projects that exceed $20,000. 

(A.C.A. § 22-9-203) 

 

The successful bidders on all projects that exceed $20,000.shall provide the owner a performance 

bond for 100% of the contract amount. (A.C.A. § 18-44-503) 

 

 

Construction Requirements: 

Any construction project that exceeds $20,000, the contractor must hold a valid Arkansas State 

Contractor’s License (A.C.A. 17-25-101).  

This statute also applies to sub-contractors that do work in excess of $20,000.  Any general 

contractor’s contract that exceeds $50,000, all sub-contractors must be licensed contractors. 

(A.C.A. 22-9-204) 

 

Any sub-trades contractor doing work in areas such as electrical, plumbing, HVAC, etc. must 

hold the required trade’s license from the State of Arkansas.  Any of these contractors that do 

jobs that exceed $20,000 must also hold the State Contractor’s License. (A.C.A. § 22-9-204)  

 

The Division or any person acting on behalf of the Division may conduct on-site inspections of 

the new construction project as frequently as the Division deems necessary to assure the prudent 

and resourceful expenditure of state funds with regard to public school academic facilities. 

(A.C.A § 6-20-2507) 

 

If a contractor retained by a school district is required to furnish a performance bond, the district 

must pay 95% of earned progress payments when due and retain 5% to assure faithful 

performance. All sums retained by the district must be paid to the contractor within thirty days of 

contract completion, assuming the contractor has faithfully performed the contract in full. 

(A.C.A. § 22-9-601 & 604) 

 

 

 

 


